Powered by ZigaForm version 4.0
Scroll Top

Busselton-Dunsborough Times: 2018 Western Australian Award nominees announced

Western Australia’s top achievers have been recognised for their achievements in the community.

On Thursday, the Western Australia Award nominees were announced for a range of honours.

The list includes Western Australia’s Australian of the Year, Western Australia’s Senior Australian of the Year, Western Australia’s Young Australian of the Year and Western Australia’s Local Hero awards.

The nominees for the the state’s Australian of the Year award are Dr Nick Gottardo, Danny Green, Jaqueline Mills and Dr Tracy Westerman.

Dr Gottardo is a paediatric oncologist and brain cancer researcher based in Perth.

Perth’s Mr Green was recognised for being an anti-violence advocate and for his sporting achievement.

Ms Mills, Bassendean, is an advocate for people with disabilities.

The state’s 2018 Young Australian of the Year nominees are Jeffrey Effendi (social entrepreneur/humanitarian), Rahlia Haidary (refugee/human rights advocate), Greg Hire (basketballer and youth mental health advocate) and Samantha Kerr (sportswoman).

Western Australia’s Local Hero nominees are Dr Andrew Davies (doctor helping homeless people), Reginald Lambert (community stalwart), Cr Peter Lyondon-James (addiction treatment specialist) and Tyson Mowarin (Aboriginal storyteller).

All award recipients will be announced on November 22 at Government House, Perth.

The Western Australia awardees will then join a cohort of 32 state and territory recipients from around Australia at the national awards in Canberra on January 25, 2018.

Commonwealth Bank has been a major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for more than 30 years.

Visit www.australianoftheyear.org.au for more information.